Food Guide

As many cultural and religious traditions have certain dietary requirements, it can sometimes be tricky knowing what foods to serve. Therefore QFCC has put together this Food Guide.

Index: Baha’i FaithBuddhistChristian Western (Catholic/Protestant)Christian Eastern (Catholic/Protestant)The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day SaintsHinduISCKON (Hare Krishna)JewishMuslimPaganSikhSufi

Baha’i Faith

FOOD GROUPSYESNO
Meat
Fish and other seafood
Milk and Milk products
Fruit and Vegetables
Bread and Cereals
Soups and Sauces
Fats and Oils
BeveragesNo alcohol either as drinks or for use in cooking – for medicinal use only
OtherBaha’is fast between sunrise and sunset for 19 days in March (either 1 to 20 March or 2 to 22 March depending on the year)
For Baha’is all foods are acceptable and diet is a matter of personal choice.

 

Buddhist

FOOD GROUPSYESNO
MeatMost Buddhists are vegetarians
Mahayana: strict vegetarian
Tibetan: prefer vegetarian
Theravada: no strict requirements
Fish and other Seafood
Milk and Milk products
Fruit and VegetablesMahayana: no onion or garlic
Bread and Cereals
Soups and Sauces
Fats and Oils
BeveragesConsumption of alcohol for lay Buddhists is a personal choice
OtherTheravada Monks and Nuns eat before noon with nothing consumed after noon. This does not apply to other traditions.
Lay Buddhists have no strict rules and it is a matter of personal choice.

 

Christian – Western (Catholic/Protestant)

FOOD GROUPSYESNO
MeatCatholics fast and do not eat meat on Ash Wednesday and Good Friday, the beginning and end of the six week Lenten Season (February to April).
For Protestants, fasting of any type is a personal choice.
Fish and other Seafood
Milk and Milk products
Fruit and Vegetables
Bread and Cereals
Soups and Sauces
Fats and Oils
BeveragesSome Christians (e.g. The Salvation Army) do not drink alcohol
Other
For Christians, all foods are acceptable. When no fast is prescribed, there are no prohibited foods.

 

Christian – Eastern (Catholic/Protestant)

FOOD GROUPSYESNO
MeatNo meat during periods of fasting
Fish and other SeafoodNo fish, except at weekends, during major fasting times.
Milk and Milk productsNo dairy products or eggs when fasting
Fruit and Vegetables
Bread and Cereals
Soups and Sauces
Fats and OilsNo olive oil, and in some cases, no oil of any type, during fasting periods
BeveragesAlcohol is not drunk on fasting days, except wine on some weekends, and in some traditions, beer
Other
For Christians, all foods are acceptable. When no fast is prescribed, there are no prohibited foods.
Orthodox Christians follow a basically Vegan diet during periods of fasting. The most significant of these is the Great Lenten Fast which occurs during the six weeks prior to Orthodox Easter. There are three other periods of fasting as well as specific days of fasting and feasting.
In general, the more observant Orthodox Christians fast every Wednesday and Friday.
See https://orthodoxwiki.org/Fasting for further details. The wisest way to proceed when planning an event is to consult a local priest.
Many Christians are committed to eating foods which are ethically sourced and minimise harm to the environment.

 

The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints

FOOD GROUPSYESNO
Meat
Fish and other Seafood
Milk and Milk products
Fruit and Vegetables
Bread and Cereals
Soups and Sauces
Fats and Oils
BeveragesNo alcohol, tea or coffee
OtherNo smoking
For Latter Day Saints, all foods are acceptable and they are able to eat anything in moderation.

 

Hindu

FOOD GROUPSYESNO
MeatMany Hindus follow a lacto- vegetarian diet , therefore no meat (especially beef) , poultry
Fish and other SeafoodNo fish, or eggs
Milk and Milk productsThese are allowed and encouraged
Fruit and Vegetables
Bread and Cereals
Soups and Sauces
Fats and Oils
Beverages
OtherBrahmins may have restrictions on who prepares their food and how it is stored. There are many fasting days.

 

ISCKON (Hare Krishna)

FOOD GROUPSYESNO
MeatDevotees are generally lacto-vegetarian, therefore no meat, poultry.
Fish and other SeafoodNo fish or eggs
Milk and Milk productsMilk and dairy products are fineCheese cannot be produced with animal rennet
Fruit and VegetablesNo onion, garlic or mushrooms
Bread and CerealsStrict observers require grain products to be produced by other devotees
Soups and Sauces
Fats and Oils
BeveragesNo alcohol or caffeine (i.e. tea,coffee, chocolate)
Other

 

Jewish

FOOD GROUPSYESNO
MeatMust be killed and prepared in a kosher way, which includes draining and soaking blood from the meat. It needs to be kosher certifiedNo pork, ham, bacon, rabbit
Fish and other SeafoodFish must have scalesNo shellfish (e.g. prawns) or crustaceans or fish without scales
Milk and Milk productsMilk (including coconut milk and other substitutes), cheese, yoghurtNo cheese produced with animal rennet. No gelatine.
Fruit and VegetablesSourced in Australia to avoid additives
Bread and CerealsKosher bread should be from a certified kosher bakery
Soups and Sauces
Fats and Oils
Beverages
OtherStrictly observant kosher requires a hechser or kosher symbol on the packetMeat and dairy foods cannot be eaten together in the same meal.

 

FOOD GROUPSYESNO

Muslim

MeatMeat must be killed the halal way which includes prayer, draining and soaking blood from the meatNo pork, ham, bacon, rabbit, carrion, birds of prey
Fish and other SeafoodAll seafood is permissible
Milk and Milk productsMilk, cream, cheese , ice- cream. They must all have halal ingredients. Cheese and gelatine should be from halal animalsNo animal based food colouring.
Fruit and VegetablesAll fruit and vegetables should preferably be Australian grown
Bread and CerealsMost bread. Emulsifiers must be from a halal source
Soups and SaucesSoups and sauces must be from halal products. Only pure vegetable soup
Fats and OilsOlive oil, vegetable oil and rice bran oilNo animal fat or lard from non-halal animals
BeveragesTea, coffeeNo alcohol
OtherSweets and jellies from halal products onlyFor strict observers, vanilla extract is not permitted
Fasting (no food or drink) from sunrise to sunset, is required during the Holy Month of Ramadan. Muslims are allowed to eat as much as they like after sunset and are encouraged to invite family and friends to join them. The date of Ramadan moves forward each year.

 

Pagan

FOOD GROUPSYESNO
MeatPagans who eat meat generally prefer to source their meat from high animal welfare producers who are organic or free range and humanely killedVegetarians, piscetarians and vegans
Fish and other SeafoodPagans who eat seafood generally prefer wild caught/sustainably sourced product over farmedVegetarians and vegans
Milk and Milk productsPreference is to support small, local dairies and producers of milk, cream, butter, cheeses and yoghurt (or make own).Non-animal rennet and gelatine for vegetarians, none for vegans
Fruit and VegetablesAll -preference for organic, home grown
Bread and CerealsNo animal additives for vegetarian, vegan
Soups and SaucesNo animal additives for vegetarian, vegan
Fats and OilsNo animal fats/oils for vegetarians, vegans
BeveragesPreference for organic/fair trade tea, coffee and chocolate.
OtherMost Pagans take into account the ethics of where their food comes from when choosing what to eat -sustainable, organic, free range, nonGM, food miles travelled, what is in season, are taken into consideration.For vegans no animal product at all – no honey, eggs, dairy.

 

Milk and Milk productsMilk, Butter, Cream, Cheese, Yoghurt, Ice Cream, Coconut milk and other milk substitutes

Sikh

FOOD GROUPSYESNO
MeatNon-halal meat for non- vegetariansMost Sikhs are vegetarian
Fish and other seafoodMost Sikhs are vegetarian
Fruit and VegetablesAll
Bread and CerealsBread, pasta, noodles and riceNothing made with eggs, egg whites or animal based emulsifiers
Soups and SaucesAll made with vegetables and vegetable stockNo animal fats, fish sauce and Worcestershire sauce
Fats and OilsVegetable oils, butter, margarine (using vegetable oils), GheeNo animal fats, lard, suet, fish oils
BeveragesFruit or milk based, Soft drinks (e.g. lemonade)No alcohol or fermented drinks (e.g. ale)
OtherNo animal based: thickeners (e.g. chitin); food colouring (e.g. cochineal/carmine); emulsifiers (e.g. lecithin); enzymes (e.g. lipase, pepsin, rennet); Gelatine (in chocolate or ice-cream)

 

Sufi

FOOD GROUPSYESNO
MeatMeat must be killed the halal way which includes prayer, draining and soaking blood from the meatNo pork, ham, bacon, rabbit, carrion, birds of prey
Fish and other SeafoodAll seafood is permissible
Milk and Milk productsMilk, cream, cheese, ice cream.
They must all have halal ingredients. Cheese and gelatine should be from halal animals.
No animal based food colouring
Fruit and VegetablesAll fruit and vegetables should preferably be Australian grown
Bread and CerealsMost bread. Emulsifiers must be from a halal source
Soups and SaucesSoups and sauces must be from halal products. Only pure vegetable soup
Fats and OilsOlive oil, vegetable oil and rice bran oilNo animal fat or lard from non-halal animals
BeveragesTea, coffeeNo alcohol
OtherSweets and jellies from halal products onlyFor strict observers, vanilla extract is not permitted
Fasting (no food or drink) from sunrise to sunset, is required during the Holy Month of Ramadan. Sufis are allowed to eat as much as they like after sunset and are encouraged to invite family and friends to join them. The date of Ramadan moves forward each year.